Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » English Forum » Discord Times




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Error message on start up?
 Post Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 8:24 am 
Offline

Posts: 3
Hi,

Is anyone else getting a issue when starting the game?

I get a black screen for a second and then this error message:

DDraw7.SetDisplayMode
Action not supported.

I've tried compatibility settings on it with no luck.

Am running windows 7 32bit.
Quad core Amd.
Geforce 240GT 1GB Ram
3GB Ram
Resolution 1768x992

Cheers for any help and let me know if there is any other details needed.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error message on start up?
 Post Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 12:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 25
alexander101, unfortunately, your monitor probably doesn't support resolution 1024x768 that is needed for the game. Window mode is not available at the moment...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error message on start up?
 Post Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 1:32 pm 
Offline
Backers
User avatar

Posts: 30
Location: UK
If it is down to monitor resolution and you don't have the 1024x768 option directly in your display settings, you may still be able to use it by activating downscaling support in regedit.

M


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error message on start up?
 Post Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:42 am 
Offline

Posts: 3
Okay thanks for the resolution tip. My monitor has the option for 1024x768 and that seems to get the game running.

Is that the maximum resolution that the game will support?

Cheers for your help.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error message on start up?
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 452
The game can run on any resolution but it sets the monitor into 1024x768 mode. So, if a monitor doesn't support this resolution, the game won't run. 5-8 years ago that wasn't an issue but now with many wide screens it could be problematic with some monitors.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error message on start up?
 Post Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:02 am 
Offline

Posts: 3
Thanks for that info.

Much appreciated.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error message on start up?
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 1:27 pm 
Offline

Posts: 2
Hi,

after the game is loaded it crushes. Tried severeal things than I read the posts in this forum and tried to start the game with an old monitor with and without compatibility mode... but nothing changed.
Do you have any idea why?

King regards!

win 8 pro
dual core
Geforce 8500 (?).


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error message on start up?
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 452
Try to run it in Windows XP or 7 compatibility mode. We never tested it on Win 8.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Board index » English Forum » Discord Times


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron