Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » English Forum » Discord Times




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: *Runtime Error 216* DT CE with Windows 8 x64 Pro
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 07, 2013 8:42 am 
Offline
Early Supporter

Posts: 4
Hi i installed DT on my Windows 8 x64 Pro OS
AMD X4 N930 with an ATI 5650

All Drivers are up-to-date. BTW i'm an PC Technician so (most of the Time) i know what i'm doing :-) (My Wife has an other opinion).

Error:
DT Starts Ok the Screen goes into Fullscreen -> your Aterdux Logo apears -> the blue loading bar goes from left to right 100% than a short stop and Windows pops up "DT has stop working" after a short while u can close the Windows System Popup and DT is terminated. If u chancel the "Not working Message" (only then) your DT Error Message comes to light: Runtime error 216 @ 00404F54.

In that case u have to end the DT Task manually.

I have tried all Compability Settings without solving the Problem.

Please Advice

Best Regards from sunny but cold Germany


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: *Runtime Error 216* DT CE with Windows 8 x64 Pro
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 07, 2013 10:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 452
Hi there!

We didn't check it on Windows 8 but other players could run it according to what we heard. Can you try setting you screen resolution at 1024x768 manually and then try to start DT? And keep compatibility settings of XP.

And could you tell us what version of DirectX do you have installed?

Best wishes from also sunny and also cold Minsk :)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: *Runtime Error 216* DT CE with Windows 8 x64 Pro
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 07, 2013 12:51 pm 
Offline
Early Supporter

Posts: 4
Hello, and thank you for answering on a Sunday.

Res to 1024*768 Comp XP Servicepack II & III -> No :-(

I'm Running Dx11 (always up to date) and the ATI 13.1 Driver.

I have tinker around with the Microsoft Application Compatibility Toolkit (i used to fix Gothic 1 & 2 with it) to no avail. The Trick with ForceSimplesurface is not working with DT.

I see that u using a DX7 Framwork for DT. But Other DX7 Games running fine.

So thanks again, i you need more Info, np from my Side.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: *Runtime Error 216* DT CE with Windows 8 x64 Pro
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 452
Hi again, we think it might be a persmission issue. Can you try running DT as an administrator? And let us know if it works please...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: *Runtime Error 216* DT CE with Windows 8 x64 Pro
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 2:04 pm 
Offline
Early Supporter

Posts: 4
Alexander wrote:
Hi again, we think it might be a persmission issue. Can you try running DT as an administrator? And let us know if it works please...


Hi, No don't work with all Compatible Settings from Win 95 to Windows 7.

Data Execution Prevention Settings from low to High with or without MS EMET doesn't work either.

BTW i'm a PC Technician so i have a little bit of Knowledge about my PC. (By that i mean i'm
not a noob :-))

Cheers from rainy Germany


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: *Runtime Error 216* DT CE with Windows 8 x64 Pro
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 7:13 pm 
Offline
Early Supporter

Posts: 3
Hi@all:

Same here, Win8, pretty much the same Configuration as Richtschwert but Nvidia Graphics Card. Tried to start with all compatibility Modes and of course as Admin (always the first thing to try ... ;) ) I also tried the tipps you mentioned already.

All drivers are up to date. The game is loading but after the loading screen has finished it crashes with a runtime error... :(


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: *Runtime Error 216* DT CE with Windows 8 x64 Pro
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 452
Thank you for your reports. Well, easy ways didn't work out, we have to try the hard ones. As much as we were going to avoid it, but I guess it's time for us to learn Windows 8 and install it :) Once we know something more, we will let you know!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: *Runtime Error 216* DT CE with Windows 8 x64 Pro
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 7:37 am 
Offline
Early Supporter

Posts: 4
Alexander wrote:
Thank you for your reports. Well, easy ways didn't work out, we have to try the hard ones. As much as we were going to avoid it, but I guess it's time for us to learn Windows 8 and install it :) Once we know something more, we will let you know!


Thanks Alexander for your Reply,

WoW you Guys are Awesome...............

Cheers from windy Germany


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: *Runtime Error 216* DT CE with Windows 8 x64 Pro
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:30 pm 
Offline
Early Supporter

Posts: 3
:) Well I like Win8, so if you havent tried it yet, have fun trying it. Its a bit unfamiliar at the first glance but if you got used to it, it can really be fun.

Nevertheless its more important for me that LoE will be released soon, son dont spend to much effort on this issue... :D


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: *Runtime Error 216* DT CE with Windows 8 x64 Pro
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 12:00 pm 
Offline
Early Supporter

Posts: 5
Just for the record, I pre-ordered LoE yesterday and therefore received a free copy of Discord Times. My idea was to spend some time with it while waiting for LoE to become completed and more polished.

Unfortunately Discord Times crashes on my Windows 8 x64 system no matter what (same error as described by Richtschwert in post #1). Maybe you should update your pre-order page to reflect the incompatibility with Win 8 x64.

Never mind! I still don't regret my purchase of LoE and now I maybe just should change my mind about giving the beta a try.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

Board index » English Forum » Discord Times


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron